Design Your Vision with Icon Sign Company

College football awards

Posted on December 7, 2012 in Sports News - Yooper & Michigan.

The 78th Heisman Trophy will be awarded on Saturday in New York.

Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel (man-ZELL), Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein and Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o (MAN-tye TAY-oh) are all up for the award.

Manziel is trying to become the first freshman to win the Heisman.

Klein, also a dual threat quarterback, has thrown for 2,490 yards, 15 TDs and seven picks while also running for 890 yards and 22 scores.

Te’o has 101 tackles and seven interceptions for the 12-and-0 and top-ranked Fighting Irish, who will play Alabama in the BCS National Championship Game.

On Thursday night, college football’s best were honored individually during an awards ceremony at Disney World, and Notre Dame’s Manti Te’o was the big winner.

The senior linebacker took home the Maxwell Award as the nation’s top all-around player.

The Chuck Bednarik Award as the top defensive player and the Walter Camp Award, which honors the player of the year as voted by coaches and sports information directors.

USC’s Marqise Lee won the Biletnikoff Award (wide receiver), Wisconsin’s Montee Ball was given the Doak Walker Award (running back), Mississippi State’s Johnthan Banks was the recipient of the Jim Thorpe Award (defensive back),

Tulane’s Cairo Santos captured the Lou Groza Award (place-kicker), Louisiana Tech’s Ryan Allen repeated as the Ray Guy Award winner (punter) and Texas A&M’s Luke Joeckel won the Outland Trophy as the top interior lineman.


By:  Mike Plourde   for Great Lakes Radio Sports

Comments are closed.