Start Your Nursing Career

NHL – The Stanley Cup Playoff Format Is Set

Posted on April 13, 2015 in Professional Sports News.

The Detroit Red Wings are the six-seed in the Eastern Conference First Round, which will begin Thursday in Florida.

Detroit will match up with the Tampa Bay Lightning, who earned the third-seed in the playoffs.

The Red Wings finished the season 43-25-and-14 following a 2-0 shutout of Carolina on Saturday.

The Lightning enter the post-season on a three-game winning streak.

Detroit lost three of four to Tampa Bay this season.


The overall field for the 2015 NHL Stanley Cup Playoffs is set.

With the conclusion of the regular season on Saturday, the 16 teams that will battle for the Stanley Cup are now locked into their positions.

In the Eastern Conference, the top-seeded New York Rangers will meet the Pittsburgh Penguins.

The Washington Capitals will clash with the New York Islanders, the Montreal Canadiens will collide with the Ottawa Senators, while the Tampa Bay Lightning will take on the Detroit Red Wings.

In the Western Conference, the top-seeded Anaheim Ducks will do battle with the Winnipeg Jets.

The Vancouver Canucks will face the Calgary Flames, the St. Louis Blues will square off with the Minnesota Wild, while the Nashville Predators will hook up with the Chicago Blackhawks.

The playoffs will get underway on Wednesday.

By:  Mike Plourde     –     for Great Lakes Radio Sports

Comments are closed.